Copa Libertadores, Mexican Teams Play for Two Spots in January

November 8, 2006

InterLiga, featuring eight teams, will be played January 3rd through 13th to determine which two teams will represent Mexico in the Copa Libertadores 2007.

Unfortunately, Copa Sudamericana semifinalists, Toluca, because of their Clausura championship, are required to play in the CONCACAF Champions Cup, preventing them from possibly playing in the Libertadores.

The winner of the current Apertura will be in the same position as Toluca, unable to join in the South American showcase event.

2007 InterLiga

Group A
Cruz Azul, Necaxa, Monterrey, Tigres

Group B
Club America, Jaguares, UAG Tecos, Morelia

InterLiga tourney set for Houston, Dallas, L.A. – AP (new window)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: